EJR Beads

Author Topic: what type of clay  (Read 5463 times)

Jinx

• Another Clayer from Denmark
what type of clay
« on: November 12, 2011, 01:41:22 PM »
As I'm a newbie, I have do ask some of your much more experienced clayers..

For canes for milififorie, what type of clay do you preffer in these topics:

Best translucient white, I want as much transperant as posiple but, not the dirty type color.

Best metal and shimmer color, clay to use in canes.

Best clay to hold details in cane, when they are reduced.

I know this is a lot of big questions, but I felt that they was all of the same type..

Thanks a lot up front

jinx
To many things to try and too little time!
http://www.amio.dk/butik/madebyjia/produkter

Peter

• Because together we got power
    • Mango Fizz Creations
Re: what type of clay
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2011, 02:11:34 PM »
Hi Jinx!

I guess that you will get many different answers for your questions but her goes... :D

I use predominately Fimo Soft for all my work, I find that it is fine for all general cane work and holds detail fine as long as you let it rest occasionally when you are reducing it. Fimo Classic is slightly crisper in a cane but is harder to condition. Very much a trade off between ease of use and finished product.

I find that the Premo translucent is the clearest BUT it seems to dry up very quickly out of the packet. I haven't used Kato translucent but have heard that it is very good (although has a different cooking temperature to Fimo).

Again, I use Fimo for "shiney" and metallic colours, but it can be difficult to use the "glitter" products in canes as they have bits in and can distort the cane. If I am using a metallic in a cane I tend to mix it with metallic pearl (or mix the whole colour incorporating metallic pearl) which seems to make it easier to use rather than straight out of the packet metallic. Hope that makes sense!