EJR Beads

Author Topic: Hello!  (Read 4449 times)

Brat

Hello!
« on: September 04, 2015, 11:21:51 AM »
Hi everybody! I thought I would introduce myself.
I'm Nicky, and am new to the forum.
I'm a freelance artist with a couple of Etsy shops. I run art groups for young people in my local area. I really got into polymer clay a few years ago following a radial nerve injury/op to my dominant arm. It has been a therapeutic process for me really, and I LOVE IT! Poly clay has been great in getting some of the strength and dexterity back in my fingers!
I am really hooked on the stuff now, and am looking forward to being a member of this forum and engaging with like-minded individuals!
Thanks for having me! x

Saashka

Re: Hello!
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2015, 03:56:38 PM »
Hi Nicky and welcome! I'm a newbie here too, and new to polymer clay as well. What do you make? Beads? Sculptures? Something else?

Brat

« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2015, 04:58:42 PM »
Hi Saashka!
Thanks! I have made some pendants and earrings, and also covered some wooden trinket boxes. Ive dabbled a little with beads, but am hoping to move more in that direction!
What do you make?
Nicky x

MilleD

« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2015, 07:09:20 PM »
Welcome to the forum.  Hope you enjoy it here  :)

Saashka

« Reply #4 on: September 04, 2015, 10:14:18 PM »
Pendants and earrings sound like fun. I hope we get to see some of your creations. What sort of beads are you looking to make?

I've only made round beads so far - about 200 or so of them in various sizes. Good for practice. And for realizing that caffeine jitters don't help anything when you're trying to make the bead holes straight and centered, hehe. Oh, and I've made pivot slides and color scales for reference for future projects. Those were fun, too.

Carrie

• Beads from the Coast
« Reply #5 on: September 05, 2015, 12:03:22 AM »
Hello, Nicky - welcome to the forum!
I hope you'll show us some of the things you make  :)

ejralph