EJR Beads

Author Topic: Craft fairs  (Read 2026 times)

Scroller

Craft fairs
« on: November 27, 2014, 07:33:06 AM »
I have just recently joined the forum and have been reading a lot of the post on this section and it would appear that many of you attend craft fairs. Several post show disappointment at lack of sales and not enough footfall coming through the doors. I have been attending craft fairs for many years, I have a regular one I attend once a week and then I attend a lot of one off or annual events. Jewellery seems to be very dominant in the craft fair scene and there are many people making it, every week our organiser gets phone calls asking if they can have a stall for their jewellery and are dissapointed when the answer is no.

I see all manner of things being sold and I feel quite strongly that if a person attends a craft fair it should be with items they have made themselves and not bought in from China. I also see stalls that I know won't make much money because they have not given any thought on how to display, some just have a cloth over the table with everything scattered on top. I feel display is important and good lighting. Displays need to have some height to them along with colour coordination. I have one display that reaches to eye level and I have LED spotlights and I have noticed that the customers are atracted to my stall like moths to a flame.

Pricing seems to be a stumbling block for many. At one craft fair we had a lady turn up. I could not fault her set up, it was brilliant with several glass fronted cases displaying her jewellery but the prices were through the roof and at the end of the day she had failed to sell a single item. On the other side of the coin one of our regulars made over 400 at a craft fair, her stall was just perfect in every way with well thought out displays and her prices were quite reasonable.