EJR Beads

Author Topic: Selling on Etsy, Facebook etc  (Read 13663 times)

ejralph

• Administrator
  • They're not people, they're Hippies
    • EJR Beads
Selling on Etsy, Facebook etc
« on: August 18, 2014, 11:23:29 AM »
An interesting chat developed over on the gallery thread about selling your beads on Etsy, facebook etc.

I don't like to interfere too much with the organic flow of chat here, but I think it is an important and useful discussion that would get lost to time if it just stays on the gallery threads. It also prevents people using the gallery thread for showing off and discussing their work if two strong, diverse chats are going on.

So, let's keep that interesting chat going, but move it over here maybe?

The chat started out as far as I can tell with a couple of themes. When are you "ready" to sell your work and how do you get it seen?

This is an area where I feel somewhat qualified to chat about as I've been selling art beads now for a few years and learned a trick or two. And by that, I mean basically learned what won't work because the secret of success is always elusive enough never to provide you with any pattern, rhyme or reason!

When you are ready to sell is quite simple - if someone is willing to buy- you are by definition at a place ready to sell.

But you need to be sure your product is good to go. With polymer clay we don't have many safety issues to worry about - just ensure stuff is well baked and that your design is STRONG.

If you make beads with little tiny protrusions coming out - I don't care what clay you use, what resin or varnish, what wire armature - they will break. Maybe not today or tomorrow, but sometime. Not a great legacy for you as a bead artist, so make sure your design is robust and works WITH polymer clay's natural limits, not against it.

Another issue with polymer clay - when we use other products with it - is chemical compatibility.

This is a biggie.