EJR Beads

Author Topic: Hi everyone  (Read 1863 times)

Woody Allan

Hi everyone
« on: February 26, 2013, 07:54:18 PM »
My name is Allan and like most people here I am fairly new to Poly Clay. My main interest is in Scrollsaw Woodwork and I am very interested in introducing clay into some of my work. I recently went to the Card & Craft show at the NEC and had the great pleasure in meeting someone from the Polymer Clay Guild who gave me a wonderful demonstartion of how to work with polyclay. This got me thinking of how I could work with this medium into my other  Scrollsaw work.

I am always open to suggestions and a couple of the girls at work have suggested that I should combine the clay and wood into making bespoke jewellery. This is one aspect of woodworking that I have not explored but I am seriously thinking of doing so. I also do a small amount of woodturning which again is another avenue to explore.

So look out the HELP forum because I may be bonbarding you with questions. I have purchased a few packets of clay to play around with and hopefully I will let everyone know how it goes. If anyone is interested in seeing my work then pop over to www.woodyallan.co.uk to have a look and perhaps leave some suggestions.

Here's looking forward to another interesting branch of my hobbies.

'Woody' Allan

8)

ejralph

• Administrator
  • They're not people, they're Hippies
    • EJR Beads
Re: Hi everyone
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2013, 08:00:45 PM »
Welcome Woody!

I'm sure you will soon be brimming with ideas on how to combine polymer clay with your wood pieces. You can make all kinds of cool veneers that you can bake flat on a ceramic tile, then remove and use for mosaic-ing, inlays etc.

You might also find some fun ways to use your wood skills on the clay itself. Baked clay can be drilled, sawed, lathed etc.