EJR Beads

Author Topic: A New Face  (Read 4311 times)

JamesTheSculptor

• The Thoughts of James the Person
A New Face
« on: August 27, 2014, 06:36:59 PM »
   Hello all, I'm James and I sculpt.
 I've been doing so for quite a while now that I think of it. Certainly since I was a child quite a few moons ago.
I am entirely self-taught.
 It pretty much all started with making little models of Wallace and Gromit from plasticine, much simpler back in those days.
 These days I use all manner of polymer clay. At present I'm currently using Super Sculpey a lot and find you can get a heck load of detail from it, contrary to what most people say.
I also use Sculpey firm, regular Sculpey and FIMO from time to time.

Today I sculpt on a considerably finer level of detail, I love faces, expressions and likenesses. I have no idea why they fascinate me. I suppose its the magic of capturing the essence of someone's personality or performance (if that someone is an actor).
Broadly speaking I work on a 1/6th scale but recently that has become looser and I've drifted into slightly larger scale and have been getting rather nice results from it indeed.

Here are a couple examples of what I do:

I have a passion for the BBC show Doctor Who which has been in my life for as long as I can remember and it has been a useful source of inspirational sculpting subjects, indeed I've sculpted all of the different and varied incarnations of the good Doctor (with varying success of course).
  I also have a love for cinema and theatre. I love the works of Alan Bennett and David Lynch. Douglas Adams and P.G. Wodehouse are two enormous influences on my little mind, Raymond Briggs and Oliver Postgate too.
My mind is quite a magpie's nest of odds and ends.

I studied Animation at Foundation, FdA and BA level at the London College of Communication from 2009 to 2013.